Giving Back

The Courage in Journalism Awards in Beverly Hills 2011

International Women’s Media Foundation Honors Four Brave Women Journalists Who Face Danger Reporting the News

Beverly Hills – Four brave women who risk their lives covering the news were honored by Hollywood stars and top journalists in Los Angeles on Oct. 24 and New York on Oct. 27 at the International Women’s Journalism Foundation’s Courage in Journalism Awards.

Actor Aaron Eckhart presented to BBC’s Katie Adie — a pioneer for women journalists who reported from war zones around the world — with the IWMF’s Lifetime Achievement Award on Oct. 24 at The Beverly Hills Hotel in LA.

ABC’s Nightline anchor Cynthia McFadden was mistress of ceremonies at the Courage in Journalism Awards dinner in Los Angeles. Actress Robin Givens, ABC News senior foreign affairs correspondent Martha Raddatz and Omnilife-Chivas Angelica Fuentes Tellez presented the key awards.

IWMF’S Courage in Journalism Award winners face daunting challenges reporting on violence in their countries. Mexican drug cartels have murdered two editors and threatened to kill Zeta editor Adela Navarro Bello, Iranian officials have targeted and harassed Reuters bureau chief Parisa Hafezi and Thailand authorities have charged editor Chiranuch Premchaiporn with violating laws for allowing 10 strangers to post anti-royal comments on her website and she could face up to 20 years in prison.

Bank of America, a long-time Courage in Journalism Awards supporter, returns again this year as National Presenting Sponsor. Bloomberg News is the East Coast Chair and Walmart Stores is the West Coast Chair.

Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton delivered a videotaped message at the LA and NY events congratulating the women journalists for their brave efforts reporting the news.

Founded in 1990, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IMWF) is a global network dedicated to strengthening the role of women in the news media worldwide as a means to further freedom of the press. It takes courage to report the news in many parts of the world. Each year, the International Women’s Media Foundation honors that courage and promotes the importance of a free press with its Courage in Journalism Awards, the only international awards that recognize the bravery of women journalists.